Documentation

Letters

-Search for letters
-Search in texts

Manuscripts

Editions

Links

Contact

C18

Link: linnaeus.c18.net/Letter/L2111 • Carl Linnaeus to Thomas Pennant, 16 November 1756 n.s.
Dated . Sent from () to (). Written in .

upSUMMARY

That day Linnaeus received Thomas PennantísPennant, Thomas (1726-1798).
British. Naturalist, best known for his
works on zoology. Correspondent of
Linnaeus.
letter dated 22 October [Pennant to Linnaeus, 22 October 1756Letter L2100]. Linnaeus is very grateful for the stupendous collection of stones that Pennant sent him. Linnaeus had neither seen nor heard about the very small bilobated Conchites before. Linnaeus would have answered earlier, but he intended to go to the mines of Falun, in which he owns a part, to collect minerals for Pennant. However, many things, especially at the court, stopped him so that he has to postpone his journey to the winter. If he lives, he promises to go then and send minerals with the first ship in the spring.

The worm that Pennant has delineated is Aphrodita nitens, no 1284 in Fauna SvecicaLinnaeus, Carl Fauna Svecica
sistens animalia Sveciae regni:
quadrupedia, aves, amphibia, pisces,
insecta, vermes, distributa per classes
& ordines, genera & species. Cum
differentiis specierum, synonymis
autorum, nominibus incolarum, locis
habitationum, descriptionibus
insectorum
(Stockholm, 1746).
Soulsby no. 1151.
. Pennant has discovered stupendous things regarding Terebratula.

There is a discussion regarding the orthoceratite in the belemnite.

Linnaeus has seen all Pennantís crystals and many more.

Linnaeus does not possess a Caput-medusae. The King [Adolf FredrikAdolf Fredrik, (1710-1771).
Swedish. King of Sweden. Reigned
1751-1771. Married to Lovisa Ulrika.
Father of Gustav III. Chancellor of
Uppsala university 1747-1751.
Correspondent of Linnaeus.
] and Carl Gustaf TessinTessin, Carl Gustaf
(1695-1770). Swedish. Count, important
politician and patron of science and
art. He supported Swedish artists and
scientists and collected art, books and
natural history objects. He assisted
Linnaeusís career in many ways. Married
to Lovisa Ulrica Tessin. Uncle to
Fredrik Sparre. Correspondent of
Linnaeus.
have one each, but Linnaeus is unable to acquire one in any way.

Linnaeus is very grateful for the work by Edward LhwydLhwyd, Edward (1660_1709).
British. Antiquary, geologist, botanist
and philologist, keeper of the Ashmolean
Museum, Oxford. He travelled extensively
in Wales to collect material for his
drawings and paintings.
[Linnaeus refers to the Lithophylacii Britannici ichnographiaLhwyd, Edward Lithophylacii
Britannici ichnographia. Sive lapidum
aliorumque fossilium Britannicorum
singulari figura insignium [...]
distributio classica [...] cum locis
singulorum natalibus [...] Additis
rariorum aliquot figuris aere incisis;
cum epistolis ad clarissimos viros de
quibusdam circa marina fossilia et
stirpes minerales praesertim
notandis
(London, 1699)
].