Documentation

Letters

-Search for letters
-Search in texts

Manuscripts

Editions

Links

Contact

C18

Link: linnaeus.c18.net/Letter/L3294 • Nicolaus Joseph, baron von Jacquin to Carl Linnaeus, 18 September 1763 n.s.
Dated 18. Septembris 1763. Sent from Wien (Austria) to (). Written in Latin.

upSUMMARY

Nicolaus Joseph von JacquinJacquin, Nicolaus Joseph, baron von
(1727-1817). Dutch. Botanist. In
1755 at the order of emperor Franz I of
Austria he went to the Antilles and
South America. In 1763 he became
professor of mineralogy and chemistry at
Chemnitz, later professor of botany at
Vienna and director of the botanical
garden at Schönbrunn. Correspondent
of Linnaeus.
has received Linnaeus’s letter of 20 July 1763Letter L3276 on his return to Vienna from Etscher.

Jacquin sends some leaves of Polypodium speluncae or a species very similar to that. It is very like the Polypodium Linnaeus cites from Leonard PlukenetPlukenet, Leonard (1642-1706).
British. Botanist and physician.
Botanist to Mary II (wife of William
III). Superintendent of Hampton Court.
in Synonymia (Jacquin means part 4 of Ichtyologia sive opera omnia de piscibusArtedi, Peter Ichthyologia
sive opera omnia de piscibus, scilicet:
Bibliotheca ichthyologica. Philosophia
ichthyologica. Genera piscium. Synonymia
specierum. Descriptiones specierum.
Omnia in hoc genere perfectiora, quam
antea ulla. Posthuma vindicavit,
recognovit, coaptavit & edidit
Carolus Linnaeus
(Leiden 1738).
).

Jacquin asks Linnaeus to tell him if he thinks there is something in the work on American plants Selectarum stirpium Americanarum historiaJacquin, Nicolaus Joseph, baron von
Selectarum stirpium Americanarum
historia, in qua ad Linnaeanum systema
determinatae descriptaeque sistuntur
plantae illae, quas in insulis
Martinica, Jamaica, Domingo, alliisque,
et in vicinae continentis parte,
observavit rariores; adjectis iconibus
in solo natali delineatis
(Vienna
1763).
, that should be improved or corrected.

Jacquin thanks for information on insects and plants. As to what Linnaeus asks about, Jacquin is unable to answer, since all his belongings are packed for the transfer to Chemnitz. He will return to these matters when he can get at his collections again.

Jacquin asks Linnaeus again if he has not got the material sent through Laurens Theodor GronoviusGronovius, Laurens Theodor
(1730-1777). Dutch. Naturalist. Senator
of Leiden. Son of Johan Frederik
Gronovius. Correspondent of Linnaeus.
more than a year earlier.

Franz von MygindMygind, Franz von
(c.1710-1789). Danish/Austrian.
Counsellor of the imperial court in
Vienna. Correspondent of Linnaeus.
and Jacquin have persuaded Giovanni Antonio ScopoliScopoli, Giovanni Antonio
(1723-1788). Italian. Physician and
naturalist. Correspondent of Linnaeus.
, to use Linnaeus’s system for his second edition (Jacquin refers to Flora Carniolica, 2nd editionScopoli, Giovanni Antonio
Flora Carniolica exhibens plantas
Carnioliae indigenas et distributas in
classes, genera, species, varietatis,
ordine Linnaeano
(1760), I-II, 2nd
edition (Vienna 1771-1772).
), so Scopoli should be excused now for his earlier peculiarities.

A plant, which Scopoli has defined as an Atropa, is now by Linnaeus called Scopola Carniolica in his honour. Jacquin has it in the first set of plates of plants.

Jacquin will send more than 100 plates from the “Dioscorides manuscript”(Jacquin refers to the “Codex Vindobonensis“Dioscorides, Pedanius “Codex
Vindobonensis” (manuscript,
Österreichisches
Nationalbibliothek, Vienna).
to Linnaeus through Gronovius.

As Jacquin is about to leave his garden, he can not provide Linnaeus with seeds from American plants growing there. He will be glad to send Linnaeus duplicates from his herbarium. In this letter, Jacquin encloses several seeds earlier requested by Linnaeus.

Jacquin has now got official confirmation of his position as professor of metallurgical chemistry, and counsellor of the mines of lower Hungary, placed in Chemnitz, with a salary of 500 ducats and many other benefits. He will leave for Chemnitz on the following day and looks forward to collecting plants and other natural objects in those regions which are very little explored by scientists. He wants to enter into an exchange of letters and specimens with somebody also in the subject of mineralogy.

The letter ends with a quotation of the new and impressive address to be used for mail to Jacquin in the future.

[2004-07-11]

upMANUSCRIPTS

a. (LS, VII, 221). [1] [2]